Rainforest Animal Characteristics

Rainforest animals fall into different categories as follows:

Custom Search

Rainforest Animal Classifications:

  • Amphibians like frogs. They are capable of living both on land and in water.

  • Mammals like Apes, Gorillas, Elephants, Monkeys, Coatis, Sloths, Tapirs, Jaguars and Ocelots.
  • Among the monkeys roaming in the rainforests the varieties include Capuchins, Spider Monkeys, Squillar Monkeys and Howler Monkeys.

  • Spiders like Tarantulas

  • Reptiles like Alligators and Crocodiles, Lizards and Snakes.

  • Birds like Parrots and Toucans.

  • Insects like Ants, Butterflies and Caterpillars, of which butterflies can fly having multi colored wings.

    Animal Sizes:

    The sizes of rainforest animals vary from the tiny to the giants.

  • Ants and Caterpillars are tiny.

  • African Elephants and Rhinoceroses are giants.

  • The other animals like Apes, Gorillas and Monkeys have sizes in between the two.

  • The elephants are up to 4 meters in height and 7500 kilo grams in weight.

  • Gorillas are up to 1.75 meter in height and weigh up to 165 kilo grams.

  • Jaguars are up to 70 cm tall and weigh up to 115 kilo grams.

  • Animal Meal Types:

    Animals are either:

    Herbivores - which means that they are plant or fruit eaters


    Carnivores - which means that they are meat eaters - that is they hunt other animals for their meals


    Scavengers - which means that they eat dead animals.

  • Mammals like elephants, rhinoceroses, monkeys, gorillas and tapirs are mostly vegetarians, with their meals being plants, fruits, nuts, leaves and grass.

  • Predators like Jaguars and Ocelots are meat eaters and hunt other animals for their meals.

  • Jaguars hunt and eat varieties of their prey: fish, frog, mice, birds, deer, tapirs etc.

  • Ocelots hunt and eat birds, snakes and monkeys for their meals.

  • Crocodiles hunt fish, birds, mammals and occasionally, humans and also eat smaller crocodiles.

  • Although Sloths are herbivores and normally eat only leaves, they also sometimes eat insects and lizards.

  • Coatis are insectivores, that is, they eat insects normally, but they also eat fruit. Frog, Lizard, Bat and Spider are other examples of insectivores.

  • Cassowaries eat mainly fruits, but they also eat snakes, frogs, snails, insects and fungi.

  • Frogs are known to catch fast flying insects by protruding their sticky tongues out. Small frogs eat mosquitoes, earthworms and fish. Big frogs eat mice, while some of the big ones eat small frogs.

  • While frogs are predators themselves as found above, they themselves are hunted by other predators like snakes, otters, coatis etc.

  • Lizards feed on insects or rodents.

  • Anaconda eats birds and mammals.

  • Life Range of the Animals:

  • Elephants live up to the age of about 70 years.

  • While gorillas live anywhere from 30 to 50 years, howler monkeys live up to the age of 20 years only.

  • Jaguars live up to the age of 10 or 11 years.
  • Animals' Behavior:

  • Ants live in colonies.

  • Elephants live in groups - females in groups of around 200.

  • Males live either alone or in groups of about 20.

  • Elephants move from place to place in herds of about 100.

  • Elephants communicate with each other in frequencies below the hearing range of human beings.

  • Ocelots prefer to remain alone and are nocturnal.

  • The elephant is a protected animal.
  • The other rainforest animals include Okapi and Aye-Aye.

  • Rainforest Monkey
    Click here to go to Rainforest Monkey Page. There is a wide variety of Rainforest Monkey classifications, orders, families, orders...

    African Rainforest Animals
    Click here to go to African Rainforest Animals Page.

    Return from Rainforest Animal Page to the Home Page